Proclamation Honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. No Place for Hate

Image of Town Seal

Whereas, Milton, Massachusetts is a community that benefits immeasurably from the diversity of its citizenry; and

Whereas, all acts of subtle and overt racism, and bigotry of any kind substantially undermine our community, schools, and the promise of equity and justice for all people; and

Whereas, the Civil Rights movement of the 1960’s has profoundly impacted the course of American history and continues to shape the direction and debate of our society; and

Whereas, even with the gains of the Civil Rights movement over the years, there are many goals and needs that must be pursued to continue our commitment to achieve justice in our society; and

Whereas, one of the great leaders of that 20th century movement is Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., whose message of unity and universal respect in the face of discrimination, overt racism, and bigotry is essential to healing the divisions, strife and inequities of our time so that future generations may live free and fulfilling lives of their shaping;

Whereas, the Select Board created the Equity and Justice for All Advisory Committee to advise the Town in its efforts to promote diversity, inclusion, care for all, and equitable opportunity and treatment; and

Whereas, each person’s thoughts and actions have the power to make Dr. King’s dream a reality by building bridges to different communities, listening deeply with open hearts and minds, changing our actions, and promoting a sense of welcome and inclusion; and

Now, therefore, we, the Select Board and on behalf of the Town of Milton, do hereby proclaim that Milton will maintain a policy of zero tolerance for hate crimes and will do our best to interrupt prejudice and those who, because of hate, would hurt, harass, or violate the civil rights of anyone.  We further encourage residents of Milton to participate fittingly in the observance of this proclamation and give solemn thanks for the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. on this 16th day of January, 2023 and all days. 

Arthur J. Doyle, Chair
Michael F, Zullas, Vice-Chair
Richard G. Wells, Jr., Secretary                                                 
Erin G. Bradley, Member
Roxanne Musto, Member