Fire Station Building Committee

The Town voted to authorize the Moderator to appoint a Fire Station Building Committee consisting of eleven members; and to fund this Committee to allow review of the existing study by the Fire Space Needs Committee of the existing operations and conditions of the three existing Milton Fire Department Stations. The committee will be charged to solicit and retain services of an architectural firm and/or other consultants and professionals as necessary to refine and develop the initial findings of the Fire Space Needs Committee. The present Fire Space Needs Committee has been funded to date through the generosity of private donations. The design professional shall be charged to:

  • Review the recently completed study of the three fire stations including analysis of existing and proposed sites.
  • Investigate, find, propose and seek funds for the renovation and construction of the three Milton Fire Stations.
  • Develop design plans and specifications sufficient for bidding and to develop projected project cost estimates and schedules.
  • Compare the relative advantages, disadvantages and associated costs of renovation / additions vs. new construction for each station.

And it is further recommended that the Town vote to authorize its Boards, Commissions and Committees, including without limitation the Board of Selection and the Fire Department, to apply for state and / or federal funds to assist and / or to reimburse the Town in connection with any of the foregoing; to authorize the board of Selectmen to accept grants, gifts, or donations on behalf of the Town for the purposes of this article; and to determine how such appropriation shall be raised, whether by borrowing under any applicable provisions of law or otherwise.

And it is further recommended that to begin funding this work with an initial investment to support the Committee in its efforts, the Town appropriate the sum of $40,000 to be raised from funds certified by the Department of Revenue as free cash.

Appointed By: Town Moderator

Board Members

Name Title
John E. Sheldon Member
Brian M. Walsh Chairman
Frank J. Agostino Member
Ellen K. Anselone Member
Daniel P. Clark Vice-Chair
Webster A. Collins Member
Philippe Genereux Member
Eugene J. Sullivan Member
John J. Grant Member
Paul J. Gardiner, Jr. Member
Mark E. Boyle Member