Traffic Commission

Appointed By: Board of Selectmen

Traffic Commission members receive no compensation and the Commission has no budget.

The Traffic Commission is an advisory board only. The Traffic Commission studies the traffic situation in town and advises the Board of Selectmen on ways and means to regulate traffic in the town and increase public safety.  The Traffic Commission recommends to the Board of Selectmen changes and amendments to the Traffic Rules and Orders of the town with a view towards reducing crashes and relieving traffic congestion throughout town. Given the number of cars that travel our roads each day, this objective often proves to be very challenging.

The Traffic Commission meets 4-6 times annually. Meetings and locations are posted on this webpage and citizens are welcome to attend and speak.

Any recommendations made by the Traffic Commission regarding changes to Massachusetts General Law or the Town of Milton Bylaws are then submitted to the Board of Selectmen for approval and implementation.

Note - The Traffic Commission does not review traffic enforcement issues. All enforcement authority lies solely with the police department.

The Traffic Commission is composed of representatives from several town departments as well as a resident representative listed below.

Board Members

Name Title
William F. Ritchie Consolidated Facilities (Director)
Joseph Lynch DPW (Director)
John P. Thompson, PE DPW (Engineering)
Jack Calabro DPW (Street/Traffic Lights)
John J. Grant Fire (Chief)
William Clark Planning (Director)
John E. King Police (Chief)
Lt. Mark Alba Police (Safety Officer)
Lee Toma Resident
Ann Condon Administrative Assistant *Not a voting member*